shareFB shareTwit shareEmail

Write Letters to the Editor

Writing letters to the editor is effective. As well as raising awareness among readers, politicians and their staff generally monitor the letters pages of newspapers and magazines. Even if not published, your letter could be instrumental in drawing to the editor's attention that the issue is of public concern and should be reported on.

In fact, 'letters to the editor' pages are among the most well read parts of a paper or magazine and can be very influential.

Tips for writing letters to the editor (with thanks to First Union NZ)

  • Editors prefer concise letters that respond to an article, editorial, or other letter
  • Write and submit your letter as quickly as possible, preferably the same day that the article runs, so as to be published the next day or next issue
  • Submit letters by e-mail whenever possible
  • Your letter must stand on its own — not all readers will have seen the original story
  • Open your letter with a strong statement that comments on an article, editorial, or other letter that appeared in the newspaper or magazine
  • Be careful about accuracy and avoid personal attacks
  • Keep your letter as short as possible by focusing on one, or at most two, major points. Support your position with facts, statistics, citations or other evidence. Aim for no more than 200 words
  • Close with the thought you'd like readers to remember. Instead of focusing your attention at a reporter, editor, or expert who got it wrong, consider the central point you want people reading the letter to take away
  • Ask someone to review your letter to be sure your writing is clear and you are getting your point across
  • You must include your name, street address and phone number

For information about the specific issues check out our Campaigns and the 10 Point Plan. And if you need more info contact us.

Email addresses for New Zealand newspaper editors

Whangarei - Northern Advocate editor@northernadvocate.co.nz
Auckland - New Zealand Herald letters@nzherald.co.nz
Hamilton - Waikato Times editor@waikatotimes.co.nz
Tauranga - Bay of Plenty Times editor@bopp.co.nz
Rotorua - Rotorua Daily Post editor@dailypost.co.nz
Gisborne - Gisborne Herald editorial@gisborneherald.co.nz
Hawkes Bay - Hawkes Bay Today editor@hbtoday.co.nz
Wanganui - Wanganui Chronicle letters@wanganuichronicle.co.nz
New Plymouth - Taranaki Daily News editor@tnl.co.nz
Palmerston North - Manawatu Standard editor@msl.co.nz
Wairarapa - Wairarapa Times Age editorial@times-age.co.nz
Wellington - Dominion Post letters@dompost.co.nz
Marlborough - Marlborough Express mailbox@marlexpress.co.nz
Nelson - Nelson Mail editor@nelsonmail.co.nz
Westport - Westport News editorial@westportnews.co.nz
Greymouth - Greymouth Evening Star editor@greystar.co.nz
Christchurch - The Press letters@press.co.nz
Ashburton - The Ashburton Guardian enquiries@theguardian.co.nz
Timaru - Timaru Herald editor@timaruherald.co.nz
Oamaru - Oamaru Mail news@oamarumail.co.nz
Dunedin - Otago Daily Times odt.editorial@alliedpress.co.nz
Invercargill - Southland Times letters@stl.co.nz

Email addresses for New Zealand magazine editors

Listener – go to www.listener.co.nz/letter-to-the-editor
TV Guide - julie.eley@tv-guide.co.nz
Metro - metro@bauermedia.co.nz
North and South - vlarson@bauermedia.co.nz
Investigate - ian@news24seven.tv
NBR - ngibson@nbr.co.nz
NZ Woman's Weekly – www.nzwomansweekly.co.nz/contact-us
Mindfood - michael@mindfood.com
NZ Life and Leisure – editorial@nzlifeandleisure.co.nz
Idealog - hazel@idealog.co.nz
Good - sarah@good.net.nz

Credits

© The CBB Trust 2014 - 2017

Website designed & hosted in NZ by Fyles Web & Print Workshop

Thanks to O’Halloran North Shore Accounting

Media

Press Release Archive

Newsletter #2 - Founding Membership Closing soon

31st of Dec 2014 is ast chance to become a Founding CBB Member

Submission Archive

Election 2014 Debrief

How the 2014 Election affects public service broadcasting and media for years to come.

Newsletters

Post Election Update

What's happened in broadcasting and media since the 2014 election?

Research Archive

CBB on Facebook

CBB on Twitter